Mission and Vision

The National Pioneer Women’s Hall of Fame aims to:

  • celebrate the pioneering women of Australia as well as the achievements of Australian women who were first in their field, in a well-presented museum atmosphere.
  • establish a museum recording the history of the Old Gaol.

The objectives of the National Pioneer Women’s Hall of Fame are to:

  1. establish a public museum for the purpose of recognising and honouring pioneering women who contributed to the development of Australia, which will be open and accessible to all members of the public during usual and reasonable business hours;
  2. assemble, exhibit and preserve a collection of pioneering women’s artefacts, photographs and memorabilia;
  3. develop a research library of pioneering women’s literature, historical records and personal manuscripts;
  4. promote knowledge and understanding by the Australian community of the special contribution of women;
  5. foster research into the role played by pioneering women in Australia;
  6. establish museum displays depicting aspects of the history of the Old Alice Springs Gaol;
  7. research and collect recollections of prison life from former staff and inmates;
  8. promote the use of the Old Gaol premises by other entities to enhance the attraction of the complex and to generate income; and
  9. develop relationships and assist other organisations with similar aims.


The National Pioneer Women’s Hall of Fame is managed by an elected committee of eight to twelve members, consisting of the Executive - President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer – and ordinary Committee Members. Committee members use their own individual skills to assist in the day to day running of the museum, future planning and fundraising aspects of the organisation.

COMMITTEE 2016-2017

Executive Committee

President: Julie Ross

Vice-President: Telka Williams

Treasurer: Julie Ross

Secretary: Patti Martin

Ordinary Committee Members Chris Leahy, Kay Eade, Meredith Kattenhorn, Mel Robson and Liz Marnie. 

Public Officer June Noble

We acknowledge the invaluable help of previous committee members who have assisted in building the organisation. Their commitment is much appreciated.


The operations of the museum is the responsibility of the staff, under the leadership of the Business Manager.

Jeanette Shepherd,

Business Manager

Business Manager, Jeanette Shepherd

Jeanette came on board in January 2017. Jeanette has a strong background working with non-profits in Australia and abroad across project coordination, communications, volunteer management and administration. Jeanette is responsible for the day-to-day operation of the complex,as well as guiding the museum to meet its long-term objectives and commitments. Jeanette also assists with greeting visitors, taking guided tours, and helping out in our gift shop. Jeanette can be contacted at 

Dianna Newham, 


Curator, Dianna Newham

Dianna Newham has worked as the curator at the National Pioneer Women’s Hall of Fame since April 2013, and is able to continue in this role thanks to annual grants from the Regional Museums Grant Support Program offered by the Northern Territory Government. Dianna completed a Master of Museum Studies at Macquarie University in 2013. Previous to this, with a background in anthropology and sociology, Dianna worked as a staff and consultant anthropologist for Ngaanyatjarra Council, an Aboriginal-controlled organisation in the western desert communities of Western Australia.

Lynn Day,

Curatorial Assistant

Curatorial Assistant, Lynn Day

Lynn joined the team in August 2016 and works here one day a week. She has lived in Alice Springs since 1993, and took part in the public meetings that helped establish the NPWHF.  After many years as a biologist at universities and in the public service, she now works as a scientific editor and library assistant. Lynn has been a Board member at the Olive Pink Botanic Garden and on the committee at Heritage Alice Springs. Her work at the NPWHF involves adding records to the HerStory Archive and other databases, helping with exhibitions and responding to requests for information from our archives and library.

Affiliations and Supporters

The National Pioneer Women’s Hall of Fame is a member of the International Association of Women’s Museums and of Museums Australia. We are also a member of Volunteering SA-NTTourism Central Australia and an accredited member of Tourism NT.

Policies, Plans and Newsletters